The Conrad Schlumberger Award is a prestigious award that is given to a member of the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers (EAGE) every year for outstanding and notable contributions to the scientific and technical advancement of the geosciences. Geophysics is hugely important and is the driving force behind many techniques such as Borehole Logging, Well Logging, Wire Line logging and more. 

The award was created in 1955 and so 62 awards have been presented during its time. Here are some notable winners whose work has hugely impacted the geosciences.

Nigel Anstey

A geophysicist, Nigel is known for his major contributions to seismic exploration and won the Conrad Schlumberger Award in 1964. His research has built towards what are the foundations for the techniques used in today’s oil and gas explorations. From seismic processing to seismic acquisition and interpretation, Nigel’s work has impacted all major areas of seismic exploration. He is hugely recognised for clarifying the concepts of the seismic method into non-mathematical based teachings which are used by seismic interpreters.

Michael Schoenberg

A theoretical geophysicist, Michael won the Conrad Schlumberger Award in 1996. He is recognised for his work on understanding anisotropy in the real earth as well as it’s application of determining the texture, flow and fracture porosity properties of rocks. His exploration of seismic anisotropy allowed a precise determination of fractures and faults as well as a better distinction of lithology.

Albert Tarantola

A physicist, Albert is known for his development of modern methods which interpreted waveform data. He is very active in the geophysics world and has written a vast range of books and has also taught at the University of Paris (Institut de Physique du Globe).

Les Hatton

A computer scientist and mathematician, Les is known for his work on the failures and vulnerabilities in software controlled systems. He specialised in computational geophysics which saw him with the Conrad Schlumberger Award in 1987, however, he decided to switch careers in 1990 where he focused on software and systems failure.